The « Fonds instrumental »

Since the first days of the festival, Bernard Hervet and Daniel Weissmann, supported by Aubert de Villaine, have decided to help young artists who have limited access to quality instruments. In order to create violins, violas, and cellos they have engaged internationally recognized luthiers, such as Stefan-Peter Greiner, Patrick Robin, Günter Siefert, Petr Sledaček, Antoine Gonon, Franck Ravatin, Apostol Kaloferov and Bernard Sabatier.

Read more

From there they founded an instrumental fund which allows continued acquisition of instruments thanks to the generosity of its patrons and participating estates. This unparalleled initiative exalts the prestigious Burgundy vineyards with the fabrication of 33 string instruments – each bearing the name of a Grand Cru wine and each instrument bears its vintage label marked “Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot“.
Today the collection includes 20 violins, violas and cellos. It is also supplemented with instruments lent by private individuals.

Auditions 2019

To select the young musicians who will benefit from the loan of a string instrument from the collection of the Fonds Instrumental, Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot uses its vast network of partners and professionals. Daniel Weissmann, General Secretary of the festival and coordinator of the Fonds Instrumental, invites professional musicians for an audition, organized annually at the Couvent des Cordeliers in Beaune.

Read more

The instrument lent to these young musicians, for a duration of one to three years, helps in their musical studies or at the start of their career. Many of the award winners have gone from the status of student to presenting themselves as candidates for the national conservatories in Paris and Lyon or to preparing for international selections.

The next auditions will take place on April 2nd, 2019 from 9.30am to 6.30pm at the Couvent des Cordeliers in Beaune.

Download the application form.

Please send your application form with a Curriculum Vitae and a covering letter before January 25th
to Daniel Weissmann: dw.perso@hotmail.fr

Candidates, recruited by dossier selection, must present a program composed of an obligatory piece (cf application form) and a free piece (10 minutes max).

Orchestre des Quartiers

The Fonds Instrumental of Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot is also supporting the “Orchestre des Quartiers“, initiated by the Dijon Bourgogne Orchestra in 2010. He commissioned and bought 12 violins and 11 cellos in 2009/2010, then participated financially in the purchase of 7 trumpets and 7 trombones.

Read more

The “Orchestre des Quartiers” allows children between the ages of 8 and 12, from priority neighborhoods in Dijon Métropole, to learn for free a string or wind instrument. They have group lessons every week and orchestral sessions which result in 4 or 5 concerts a year. They can bring their instrument home in order to work.
Children can participate in this project for up to 3 years and continue this learning, if they wish, with a specialized education (music school or conservatory).

« Young Talents » scholarship

The “Young Talents” scholarship was created during the first edition of Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot to help young musicians by awarding them a scholarship or by accompanying them in their professional debut (concerts, recordings etc.). Selected artists must be attending establishments or courses of higher education forming part of a recognized European and American cursus.
Fundraising by patrons and partners and financed by the annual auction held after the closing concert of the festival provides strong support to the award winners, allowing them to begin their international career with more serenity.

Read more

With such a distinguished career start, the “Young Talents” are also engaged via this scholarship, to perform alongside great performers of international musical at concerts organized by Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot. Each year, a free concert of the award winners and artists of the festival is given to the public in the mythical Grande Halle de Beaune (where the wine auction is held) thanks to its partnership with the city. The “Young Talents” of 2019 will be accompanied by the Dijon Bourgogne Orchestra led by David Chan during the concert of 22 June.
This exceptional project has already dedicated 12 European instrumentalists and 10 American opera singers.

The winners 2019

Gabriella Reyes, soprano

Nicaraguan-American Soprano Gabriella Reyes is one of the most exciting emerging talents on the operatic stage today. Having just made her critically acclaimed house debut as the High Priestess in Aida, Gabriella will make two further appearances at the Metropolitan Opera in the 2018/19 season: First Lady in Die Zauberflöte and Nella in Gianni Schicchi. She will also return to the New York Choral Society for Tippet’s A Child of Our Time at Carnegie Hall.

Read more

Highlights of last season include excerpts of Die Zauberflöte in concert with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, led by Maestro Gustavo Dudamel, and her debut with the New York Choral Society for Beethoven’s Symphony no. 9 with the New Haven Symphony Orchestra. Prior to arriving at the Met, she completed a training at Boston University’s Opera Institute where she sang several roles of Mozart, Gluck and actual composers such as Tobias Picker, Jonathan Dove and Philip Glass. In the summer of 2016, she debuted in OperaHub’s production of Montsalvatge’s El Gato con Botas and was selected by Houston Grand Opera to participate in their Young Artists Vocal Academy. She was a grand finalist in the 2017 Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions and honoured by the Richard Tucker Music Foundation with a Sara Tucker Study Grant.

Caroline Sypniewski, cello

Born in 1992, Caroline Sypniewski studied at the CRR (Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional) of Toulouse and Paris before being admitted unanimously to the CNSM de Paris in the class of Jérôme Pernoo. She is currently in Gautier Capuçon’s Class of Excellence at the Louis Vuitton Foundation and takes part in the Jaroussky Academy at the Seine Musicale. She is perfecting her playing in masterclasses with Gary Hoffman, Ivan Monighetti, Marc Coppey, Francois Salque, Wolfgang Boettcher, and Colin Carr.

Read more

With a strong interest in chamber music, she has founded a string trio with her two sisters and participated in the Seiji Ozawa String Quartet Academy and the Paris Chamber Music Center. She performs in recital or in chamber music at many festivals in France. At the Carl Flesch Academy, she performed Dvorak’s Concerto and Haydn’s Concerto No. 1 with the Baden-Baden Philharmonic Orchestra. She plays with orchestras under the baton of great conductors such as Tugan Sokhiev, Hebert Bloomstedt, Myung Whun Chung, and Philippe Jordan.
Caroline was Classical Revelation of the ADAMI 2017. She has a scholarship from the Safran Foundation and has won several prizes at the Maurice Ravel Academy and the Carl Flesch Academy.

Award winners of previous editions

The Young Talents of the 2008 to 2017 editions are all following dazzling musical careers.
Award winning singers have all been invited to the greatest international scenes such as the Metropolitan in New York, the Deutsche Opera in Berlin, the Paris Opera or Covent Garden in London.

Read more

Some of the Young Talent instrumentalists, such as Pierre Génisson, Ismaël Margain and Pierre Fouchenneret, are now renowned soloists and sought-after partners in chamber music. Other instrumentalists have joined major European orchestras: Johannes Grosso is principal oboe of the Frankfurt Opera and the Bayreuth Festival, Mathilde Caldérini, the flute player, has joined the Orchestra of La Suisse Romande and Laura Jaillet, the first ever award winner of the festival, is now part of the European Union Youth Orchestra. The Trio Karénine has made a remarkable Schumann recording (with the Aparté label) thanks to the grant of Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot, has won a lot of attention and performs regularly.

2018

Kang Wang, ténor
Florian Pichler, trompette

2017

Ying Fang, soprano
Valentin Cotton, piano

2016

Hyesand Park, soprano
Vladimir Percevic, viola

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

Kate Lindseymezzo-soprano
Pierre Génisson, clarinet

2010

Tamara Mumfordmezzo-soprano
Johannes Grosso, oboe

2009

Shenyang, baritone-bass

2008

Laura Jaillet, violin

The Auction at the Gala Dinner

After enjoying the closing concert of the festival, three hundred and fifty guests have the privilege of attending the gala dinner organized in the Chateau’s Great Hall (Le Grand Cellier). During this gastronomic tribute to the great wines of Burgundy there is the traditional auction of prestigious wines and works of art. All received monies are donated to the scholarship fund for Young Talents and the Fonds Instrumental. The auction is conducted by Anthony Hanson.

Le fonds instrumental

Dès la création du festival, Bernard Hervet et Daniel Weissmann, encouragés par Aubert de Villaine, ont souhaité soutenir de jeunes artistes qui n’ont pas encore accès à des instruments de qualité, en confiant la fabrication de violons, altos et violoncelles à des luthiers aux références internationales, tels que Stefan-Peter Greiner, Patrick Robin, Günter Siefert, Petr Sledaček, Antoine Gonon, Franck Ravatin, Apostol Kaloferov et Bernard Sabatier.

Lire la suite

Ils ont alors fondé le Fonds Instrumental de Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot, grâce à la générosité des mécènes et Domaines qui permettent de poursuivre l’acquisition d’instruments. Cette initiative incomparable sacralise le prestigieux vignoble bourguignon par la fabrication à terme de trente-trois instruments à cordes qui porteront chacun le nom de trente-trois Grands Crus. Chaque instrument porte une étiquette millésimée « Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot ».
Le fonds compte aujourd’hui 20 violons, altos et violoncelles. Il s’enrichit également d’instruments prêtés par des particuliers.

Auditions 2019

Pour sélectionner les jeunes musiciens qui pourront bénéficier du prêt d’un instrument à cordes du fonds instrumental, Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot s’appuie sur un vaste réseau de partenaires et de professionnels. Daniel Weissmann, Secrétaire Général du festival et coordinateur du projet du fonds instrumental, invite des artistes professionnels pour une audition annuelle, organisée au Couvent des Cordeliers à Beaune.

Lire la suite

L’instrument qui leur est prêté, pour une durée de un à trois ans, aide ces jeunes musiciens dans leur cursus d’études ou leur début de carrière. Parmi les lauréats, nombreux sont ceux qui sont passés du rang d’étudiant à celui de candidat dans les conservatoires nationaux supérieurs de musique à Paris et à Lyon ou qui se préparent à des concours internationaux.

La prochaine audition aura lieu le mardi 02 avril 2019 de 9h30 à 12h30 et de 14h à 18h30 au Couvent des Cordeliers à Beaune.

Dossier de candidature à télécharger ici

Les candidatures, comprenant la fiche d’inscription, un CV et une lettre de motivation, sont à envoyer par e-mail à l’attention de Daniel Weissmann: dw.perso@hotmail.fr
avant le 25 janvier 2019

Les candidats, recrutés sur dossier, doivent présenter une oeuvre imposée (cf dossier de candidature) et une oeuvre au choix de 10 minutes maximum.

Orchestre des quartiers

Le Fonds Instrumental de Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot apporte son soutien à l’Orchestre des Quartiers, initié par l’Orchestre Dijon Bourgogne en 2010. Il a commandé et acheté 12 violons et 11 violoncelles en 2009/2010, puis a participé financièrement à l’achat de 7 trompettes et 7 trombones.

Lire la suite

L’orchestre des quartiers permet à des enfants âgés de 8 à 12 ans, issus de quartiers dits « prioritaires » de Dijon Métropole, d’apprendre gratuitement un instrument à cordes ou cuivre lors de cours collectifs hebdomadaires et lors de sessions en « orchestre », qui aboutissent à 4 ou 5 concerts par an. Chaque enfant se voit confier gratuitement un instrument qu’il peut amener chez lui pour travailler.
Les enfants peuvent participer à ce projet pour 3 ans maximum et poursuivre cet apprentissage, s’ils le souhaitent, avec un enseignement spécialisé (école de musique ou conservatoire).

La bourse « Jeunes Talents »

La bourse « Jeunes Talents » a été créée dès la 1ère édition de Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot pour soutenir les jeunes musiciens en leur attribuant une bourse d’études ou en les accompagnant dans un réel début de carrière professionnelle (concerts, disque…). Les artistes sélectionnés doivent avoir intégré des établissements ou des cursus d’enseignement supérieur reconnus dans un circuit européen et américain.
La récolte de fonds, alimentée par les mécènes et partenaires, financée par la vente aux enchères qui a lieu chaque année à l’issue du concert de clôture du festival, apporte un soutien solide aux lauréats qui peuvent aborder plus sereinement leur carrière internationale.

Lire la suite

Distingués dans leur parcours, les « Jeunes Talents » sont également engagés, à travers cette bourse, à se produire lors de concerts organisés par Musique & Vin au Clos Vougeot, aux côtés des plus grands artistes des circuits musicaux internationaux. Chaque année, un concert gratuit des lauréats et des artistes du festival est donné au public dans le lieu mythique de la vente des vins, la Grande Halle de Beaune, grâce au partenariat avec la ville. Les « Jeunes Talents » 2019 seront accompagnés par l’Orchestre Dijon-Bourgogne, placé sous la direction musicale de David Chan, lors du concert du 22 juin.
Ce projet exceptionnel a déjà consacré 12 instrumentistes européens et 10 chanteurs lyriques américains.

Les lauréats 2019

Gabriella Reyes, soprano

La soprano américano-nicaraguayenne Gabriella Reyes est l’un des talents émergents les plus intéressants de la scène lyrique aujourd’hui. Après des débuts au Metropolitan Opera de New York, salués par la critique, dans le rôle de la Grande Prêtresse (Aida), elle est invitée à deux reprises pour la saison 2018/19, en tant que Première dame (La Flûte enchantée) et Nella (Gianni Schicchi). Elle est également engagée par la New York Choral Society pour une production au Carnegie Hall de A Child of Our Time de Tippet.

Lire la suite

Lors de la saison dernière, elle a notamment chanté des extraits de La Flûte enchantée avec le Los Angeles Philharmonic, dirigé par Gustavo Dudamel, et la symphonie n°9 de Beethoven avec la New York Choral Society et le New Haven Symphony Orchestra. Avant d’être intégrée au Met, elle s’est perfectionnée à l’Opera Institute de l’Université de Boston, où elle a interprété plusieurs rôles de Mozart, Gluck et de compositeurs contemporains tels que Tobias Picker, Jonathan Dove et Philip Glass. À l’été 2016, elle a fait ses débuts avec OperaHub dans la production d’El Gato con Botas de Montsalvatge et a été sélectionnée par l’Opéra de Houston pour participer à sa Young Artists Vocal Academy. Finaliste en 2017 au Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions, elle a également reçu une bourse d’étude de la Fondation Richard Tucker.

Caroline Sypniewski, violoncelle

Née en 1992, Caroline Sypniewski étudie aux CRR de Toulouse et Paris avant d’intégrer à l’unanimité le CNSMDP dans la classe de Jérôme Pernoo. Elle est actuellement dans la Classe d’Excellence de Gautier Capuçon à la Fondation Louis Vuitton et prend part à l’académie Jaroussky à la Seine Musicale. Elle se perfectionne lors de master-classes auprès de Gary Hoffman, Ivan Monighetti, Marc Coppey, François Salque, Wolfgang Boettcher et Colin Carr.

Lire la suite

Très portée vers la musique de chambre, elle forme avec ses deux sœurs un trio à cordes, participe à l’académie de quatuor à cordes Seiji Ozawa et au Centre de Musique de Chambre de Paris. Elle se produit en récital ou en formation de chambre lors de nombreux festivals en France. Lors de la Carl Flesch Academy, elle interprète le concerto de Dvorak et le concerto n°1 de Haydn avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Baden-Baden. En orchestre elle joue sous la baguette de grands chefs comme Tugan Sokhiev, Hebert Bloomstedt, Myung Whun Chung, Philippe Jordan.
Révélation Classique de l’Adami 2017, Caroline Sypniewski bénéficie d’une bourse de la Fondation Safran, obtient plusieurs prix lors de l’Académie Maurice Ravel et la Carl Flesch Academy.

Les lauréats des éditions précédentes

Les jeunes talents des éditions 2008 à 2017 poursuivent tous de brillantes carrières musicales.
Les lauréats chanteurs sont invités par les plus grandes scènes lyriques internationales telles que le Metropolitan de New York, le Deutsche Opera de Berlin, l’Opéra de Paris ou encore le Covent Garden de Londres.

Lire la suite

Certains des jeunes talents instrumentistes, comme Pierre Génisson, Ismaël Margain et Pierre Fouchenneret, sont aujourd’hui des solistes reconnus et des partenaires recherchés en musique de chambre. D’autres instrumentistes ont intégré de grands orchestres européens : Johannes Grosso est aujourd’hui hautbois solo de l’Opéra de Francfort et du Festival de Bayreuth, la flûtiste Mathilde Caldérini a intégré l’Orchestre de la Suisse romande et Laura Jaillet, la première lauréate distinguée par Musique & Vin, fait à présent partie du European Union Youth Orchestra. Quant au Trio Karénine, il a enregistré un disque Schumann très remarqué chez le label Aparté grâce à la bourse de Musique & Vin et se produit très régulièrement.

2018

Kang Wang, tenor
Florian Pichler, trumpet

2017

Ying Fang, soprano
Valentin Cotton, piano

2016

Hyesand Park, soprano
Vladimir Percevic, alto

2015

2013

2012

2011

Kate Lindseymezzo-soprano
Pierre Génisson, clarinette

2010

Tamara Mumfordmezzo-soprano
Johannes Grosso, hautbois

2009

Shenyang, baryton-basse

2008

Laura Jaillet, violon

La vente aux enchères du dîner de gala

Après avoir assisté au concert de clôture du festival, trois-cents cinquante convives ont le privilège de partager le dîner de gala organisé dans le Grand Cellier du château. C’est au cours de ce rendez-vous gastronomique à la gloire des vins de Bourgogne, que se déroule la traditionnelle vente aux enchères de crus prestigieux et d’objets d’art dont l’intégralité du bénéfice est destinée à la Bourse des Jeunes Talents et au Fonds Instrumental.
Cette vente est animée par Anthony Hanson.